top of page
  • Writer's pictureAna Portz

Week 8: Moving Forward with Global Management

Since the Global Management track is so interdisciplinary it makes it flexible yet challenging to find the avenue you want to pursue. We are able to dive into various start up roles, however, it may be difficult to find what we are truly passionate about and wanting to dive into.

I really like the idea of informational interview: walking through a company and learning about the different professional paths. As Clark states on How to Get the Most Out of an Informational Interview , it is all about “absorbing information and finding stuff out.” I love how this experience would allow myself, as a potential candidate, to gain confidence in a less pressured atmosphere, ask thoughtful questions and show my interest. I want to make a list of some companies and try to make this happen!

Although I have this experience abroad with Selina, I have some concerns about marketing myself to employers once I am in the actual interview...


What is more important to an employer?


A. To come in with a well balanced cross-cultural set

B. To have professional work experience


My problem is that I feel like I have gained more interpersonal skills than work itself. Do employers see this as potential or a downfall? I mean, it is much like the basketball saying "you can't train height but you can train to play". Iinterpersonal skills can not always be trained but professional skills can be. I believe that if you are able to highlight how your diverse skill set is unique and flexible they will see the capacity you have to learn the flow of the business.




3 views0 comments
bottom of page