top of page
  • Writer's pictureAna Portz

Week 5: Arrival of Pandemic and the Affect on Remote Work

Updated: May 13, 2020

Now back in the U.S due to the novel Corona Virus therefore, I am working remotely.

Just last week my Experience team and I had to complete a project regarding why and where we had 100's of locations with KPI's that were failing...

These KPIs (key performance indicators) are:


  • Activities

  • Appearance/ Condition/Décor

  • Food and Beverages

  • Hygiene/ Cleanliness

  • Online Reputation Index

  • RoomStaff/ Behaviour

  • ServiceValue

  • Price





The entire team was frantic to complete the analysis in time, therefore, we worked on it around the clock. A normal work day is 9:30am-4pm, and so I stopped at around 4:00pm and began watching a movie at 6:30pm. At 7pm and mid movie, my manager called me saying I had a new task that needed to be completed by 10:00am the following day... Of course I didn't complain and said I would complete it in time, but it was a task that was 5 hours long so I did not finish until 12:00am.


Being removed from the physical work atmosphere and now interning remote has caused the normal work hours to become intertwined with my personal life. There should be a fine line between the two, however, it has become easily violated since everyone is stuck at home and does not technically have anything else to do..


With that being said, I realized I was not the only one working those hours. The whole team was facing this deadline and we all needed to pitch in regardless of the hours or interference. I learned that sometimes you have to sacrifice your free time for the greater good in order to accomplish goals.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 8: Moving Forward with Global Management

Since the Global Management track is so interdisciplinary it makes it flexible yet challenging to find the avenue you want to pursue. We are able to dive into various start up roles, however, it may b

bottom of page