top of page
  • Writer's pictureAna Portz

Week 6: Achieving My Learning Goals

Updated: May 13, 2020

I would say I haven't been as successful with my learning as I would have liked to have been, considering the fact I was sent home from abroad and am now working remotely. However, I am making the most out of the unprecedented situation and soaking up as much as I can.


Internship Learning Goals:


Building Workplace Vocabulary


Although my manager still speaks to me in Spanish, I am not in the office atmosphere where my mind is constantly stimulated and challenged by the constant conversation. I feel as if I am not absorbing the vocabulary as much as I would've wished to.


Digital Technology

I am definitely accomplishing this goal. I gained knowledge on their software and platforms that will help me to understand ones easier in the future. I will be able to adapt to another company's digital means of communication.


Effectively work at a global scale

This changed dramatically. I have still been working at a global scale but now it is from my home. This has given me another perspective on business practices during a crisis since I have to do everything virtually and maintain communication with colleagues across various countries. 


Problem solving skills

Again, with the whole crisis I think I have had to deal with a lot of problem solving with not just work, but life itself. I've had to weigh many options and make major decisions. I was challenged in the face of the pandemic, but I believe I learned a valuable lesson. 


Stay open minded

When my accommodation failed in Panama, I had to move in to a community dorm at Selina, which was not ideal to me. I wanted my own bathroom, own kitchen and own space. At first I despised the idea of living there with everyone, but once I started living the Selina lifestyle at the hotel; connecting with digital nomads, co-working, and experiencing the culture around me, it allowed me to open up my mind.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 8: Moving Forward with Global Management

Since the Global Management track is so interdisciplinary it makes it flexible yet challenging to find the avenue you want to pursue. We are able to dive into various start up roles, however, it may b

bottom of page