top of page
  • Writer's pictureAna Portz

Week 2: Most Surprising Thing

Updated: May 13, 2020

The most surprising thing to me so far regarding my internship is that not everything is how it seems from the outside. Before I came here to Panamá, I had the impression that Selina was a very healthy company with exceptional guidelines. Now that I am internal within the company, I can see how they operate differently than I expected.





Although they have sky rocketing numbers and expand to several different countries monthly, like many companies, there are some flaws and ethical violations in the locations that stood out to me. For example, the volunteers are expected to work 6 hours a day for a bed to sleep in, yet some of the volunteers told me that they were given 10-15 hour work days.


It still is a great company, do not get me wrong, but from my perspective and the moral dilemma I faced hiring this, showed me that there's still a long way to go before they perfect their brand from the inside out.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 8: Moving Forward with Global Management

Since the Global Management track is so interdisciplinary it makes it flexible yet challenging to find the avenue you want to pursue. We are able to dive into various start up roles, however, it may b

bottom of page